Community Members in the Arts Honored at Spirit Awards

23nd annual awards ceremony recognizes Charlotte’s top arts supporters

The Mint Museum and Donald Haack Diamonds & Fine Gems honors the recipients of the 2009 Spirit Awards February 1, one of the Charlotte metro area’s highest honors in the arts.

“The Spirit Award recipients embody the excitement and vitality of Charlotte’s arts supporters,” said Fred Dabney, event coordinator. “Their work for the arts enriches the lives of all Charlotteans and helps us appreciate the diversity of art in our community.”

The 2009 Spirit Award recipients are: Jeanne Brayboy, Dorothy Hodges, Christie Taylor, Jane and Hugh McColl, Pat Riley, Kristine Matthews and Neiman Marcus.

The annual awards ceremony will be held Monday, February 1 from 6:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m. at Mint Museum Randolph. Created in 1986, the Spirit Awards honor community members whose contributions of time, talent or resources have significantly enhanced the relevance and vitality of the arts in Charlotte and surrounding areas. A recipient of the 1999 Spirit Award, Donald Haack Diamonds & Fine Gems has been co-sponsoring the Spirit Awards for several years. For more information, contact Fred Dabney at (704) 258-8887.