Community Members Honored at Spirit Awards

24th annual awards ceremony recognizes Charlotte’s top arts supporters

Recipients of the 2010 Spirit Awards were honored at a ceremony on Monday, 31 January at the Mint Museum Uptown at Levine Center for the Arts. The
ceremony was presented by The Greater Charlotte Cultural Trust and The Mint Museum.

The Spirit Awards were created in 1986 to honor community members and organizations whose unwavering commitment, time, talent, or resources have significantly enhanced the relevance and vitality of the arts community in Charlotte-Mecklenburg and the surrounding area.

The 2010 recipients were:

• DAVIS STEEL & IRON, accepted by Rick and Dana Martin Davis, owners;
• Earl Leake, retired Senior Vice President, Human Resources at Snyder’s-Lance, Inc.;
• John Lassiter, President of Carolina Legal Staffing, LLC;
• Mark R. Bernstein, Retired Of Counsel at Parker Poe Adams & Bernstein, LLP; and
• Dorlisa K. Flur, Executive Vice President, Chief Merchandising Officer at Family Dollar.

In addition to their involvement with various local arts organizations, the 2010 winners enjoyed a shared accomplishment of directly participating in the planning, development, or building of the four cultural facilities (Bechtler Museum of Modern Art, Harvey B. Gantt Center for African-American Arts + Culture, John S. and James L. Knight Theater, and the Mint Museum Uptown) that collectively make up Levine Center for the Arts, a newly-completed cultural campus in uptown Charlotte.

Nominations for Spirit Awards candidates are accepted through September each year. Winners are announced in December by a committee made up of representatives from the arts community.  The 2010 ceremony was co-sponsored by Best Impressions Caterers and past Spirit Awards recipient
Donald Haack Diamonds & Fine Gems.