Mint CEO wins newcomer award from Leadership Charlotte

Jameson is one of five 2012 Legacy honorees.

Charlotte, N.C. (March 8, 2012)– Dr. Kathleen V. Jameson, President & CEO of The Mint Museum, is one of five honorees in Leadership Charlotte’s 2012 Legacy Awards, Leadership Charlotte has announced.

The organization will celebrate the 2012 Legacy Awards honorees at its annual event on Thursday, April 26 at 7:30 a.m. at Time Warner Cable Arena. The Legacy Awards honor Charlotte leaders who create lasting change and measurable difference in our community.

Newcomer of the Year Award: Dr. Kathleen Jameson

The recipient of this award has lived in Charlotte five years or less and has actively sought opportunities to improve the quality of life in our community. As the President and Chief Executive Officer of the Mint Museum, Dr. Jameson has worked to increase community involvement in the arts through collaborations and programming initiatives. Last fall, more than 10,000 fifth graders toured the Romare Bearden exhibition through a partnership with the Arts and Science Council and Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools.

Community Service Award: YWCA of the Central Carolinas

The recipient of this award has enriched and improved the quality of life in our community through creativity and innovation in community service. YWCA of the Central Carolinas provides affordable housing for women, child care for working parents, and a membership-based health and fitness center. The organization also offers community events that provide a safe place to learn about and discuss the difficult topics of racism and women’s empowerment.

Lifetime Achievement Award: Bishop George Battle

The recipient of this award has demonstrated a commitment to serving the community and made significant contributions to the betterment of Charlotte. A former Chair of the Mecklenburg County Board of Education and staunch education advocate, Bishop Battle created the Greater Enrichment Program and founded the Charlotte Mecklenburg Alliance for Public Schools. He also co-founded Urban League of the Central Carolinas and has served on numerous corporate and non-profit boards.

Schley R. Lyons Circle of Excellence Award: Harry L. Jones, Sr.

The recipient of this award must be a graduate of Leadership Charlotte and demonstrate outstanding leadership qualities in keeping with the ideals of Leadership Charlotte. Jones began serving as the fourth County Manager of Mecklenburg County in October 2000. He is responsible for overseeing the County’s $1.3 billion budget, managing its 4,400 full-time employees, and serving more than 900,000 residents.

Unsung Hero Award: Lisa Quisenberry

The recipient of this award works quietly behind the scenes for the good of the community, demonstrating leadership through dedication and service to Charlotte. Quisenberry is co-founder of Hands On Charlotte, which celebrated its 20th anniversary in 2011. Under her leadership, Hands On Charlotte built collaborations with more than 150 partner agencies and schools; created volunteer opportunities for more than 7,000 individuals per year; established a premier program for corporate volunteer engagement; and presented signature programs including Hands On Charlotte Day, Martin Luther King Day Service Forum, and 9/11 Week of Service.

Media Contact: Elizabeth McKee 704.688.2888

About Leadership Charlotte

The mission of Leadership Charlotte is to develop and enhance volunteer community leadership by providing a diverse group of emerging and existing leaders with the opportunity to increase their community knowledge, civic network, and service to the community. For more information, visit or call 704.688.2888.